The 28th Jerusalem School in Economic Theory

Mechanism Design

Event date: June 27 - July 6, 2017

Organizers:
    Eric Maskin, General Director (Harvard University)
    Elchanan Ben-Porath, Codirector (The Hebrew University)
    Stephen Morris (Princeton University)

     

     

     

    Mechanism design is the “reverse engineering” part of economic theory. Normally, economists study existing economic institutions and try to predict or explain what outcomes the institutions generate. But in mechanism design we reverse direction: we start by identifying the outcomes we want and then ask what institutions could be designed to achieve those outcomes. The theory has found wide application in auction design, pollution control, public good provision, and elsewhere.

     

    List of speakers:
     

    NAMEAFFILIATIONEMAIL

    Elchanan Ben- Porath                             

    The Hebrew University of Jerusalem              

    benporat@math.huji.ac.il

    Ben Brooks

    The University of Chicago

    babrooks@uchicago.edu

    Sylvain Chassang

    New York University

    chassang@nyu.edu

    Eddie Dekel

    Northwestern University and Tel-Aviv University

    eddiedekel@gmail.com

    Sergiu Hart

    The Hebrew University

    hart@huji.ac.il

    Jason Hartline

    Northwestern University

    hartline@northwestern.edu

    Emir Kamenica

    The University of Chicago

    emir.kamenica@chicagobooth.edu

    George Mailath

    University of Pennsylvania

    gmailath@econ.upenn.edu

    Jakub Kastl

    Princeton University

    jkastl@princeton.edu

    Eric Maskin

    Harvard University

    emaskin@fas.harvard.edu

    Stephen Morris

    Princeton University

    smorris@princeton.edu

    Tim Roughgarden

    Stanford University

    tim@cs.stanford.edu

    Ariel Rubinstein

    Tel-Aviv University and New-York University

    rariel@post.tau.ac.il

    Vasiliki Skerta

    University College London

    v.skerta@ucl.ac.uk

    Balazs Szentes

    London School of Economics

    b.szentes@lse.ac.uk